NZ PBA UNDERWAY TONIGHT IN HASTINGS

The New Zealand Professional Bowls Association starts early this season with the Bowls Heretaunga venue in Hastings getting underway at 5.30pm tonight with a Shanghai Singles qualifier, followed by a Ranking singles tournament and a Scottish Singles qualifier this weekend. Winners of the Shanghai and Scottish Singles qualifiers will play at the NZ PBA Finals Weekend in Invercargill on September 15-17. The New Zealand winner of the Scottish Singles finals will represent at the Scottish International Open recently confirmed to be hosted by the West Lothian club near Edinburgh on November 7-9.

The early feature match on Sunday pits former NZ number one, Murray Glassey against former Hastings coordinator Ian Mason. This will be their eighth meeting with Glassey holding a 5-2 career advantage.

Information including an application form, entry forms, dates and venues can be found on the worldbowlstour dot org site under PBA – New Zealand. Draws for the weekend are as follows:

Shanghai Singles Qualifier 5.30pm on Fri 5th May.

(2022 rank) player v player [PBA career singles head-to-head record]

Ranking Singles on Sat 6th May:

1st round: (38)Rozanna Muriwai v (143)Dave Porteous; (114)Scotty McGavin v (33)Natarsha Grimshaw [2-1 Grimshaw]; (93)Paul Sorensen v (debut)Jason Tiddy; (83)Gary Muriwai v (-)Mike Le Geyt.

2nd round: (95)Brian Looker v (118)Ian Mason [1-0 Mason]; (debut)Tahi Mahuta v (75)Peter Jones; (136)Steve Love v (220)Glen Curtis [1-0 Curtis]; (266)Mark Kilmister v (35)Mike Isaacson; (61)Murray Glassey v (-)Gavin Keighley [3-0 Glassey]; (90)David Jones v (191)Merv Brown [1-0 Brown].

Scottish Singles Qualifier on Sun 7th May:

1st round: (debut)Tahi Mahuta v (33)Natarsha Grimshaw; (95)Brian Looker v (114)Scotty McGavin [1-0 Looker]; (136)Steve Love v (debut)Iraia Pene; (191)Merv Brown v (38)Rozanna Muriwai; (75)Peter Jones v (83)Gary Muriwai; (118)Ian Mason v (61)Murray Glassey [5-2 Glassey].

2nd round: (242)Fletch Christian v (-)Gavin Keighley; (35)Mike Isaacson v (220)Glen Curtis [1-0 Isaacson]; (93)Paul Sorensen v (266)Mark Kilmister; (-

)Mike Le Geyt v (143)Dave Porteous; (90)David Jones v (debut)Jason Tiddy.

